Suggestions are welcome.


Here in OSNOVA’s workshop, we are working on a large number of projects (other Bible translations, parallel Bibles, Bible commentaries, study materials, works of Christians of the past, etc.).  Some of them will be out soon, some will take longer, some may not see the light of day for months or years (the quality of publications is paramount).   A number of projects have been suggested by OSNOVA customers.

However, I am always open to new suggestions what you would like to see on the Kindle (and who knows maybe other e-readers).  Please note that, with a few exceptions, I cannot work on copyrighted works.

I am also open to suggestions about improvements to the current publications.

29 Comments

Filed under Discussion

29 responses to “Suggestions are welcome.

  1. Anything by C. H. Spurgeon would be great to have.

    • Noted, Bill. For prolific writers such as C.H. Spurgeon, I plan to have book collections in one (or just a couple of volumes) with the usual ease of navigation and possibly links to the incorporated Bible. I think this would add value to the free resources available on the Internet.

  2. You are doing well at Osnova !…I am enjoying my ‘jump to verse’ KJV Bible very much, thank you. I sometimes wonder if there could be an even quicker jump to verse straight from the ‘table of ccntents’, although that may not be a viable option.
    Do you have a simple to use Concordance on your lists ?, I can’t find one on Amazons’s Kindle store.
    Be blessed all of you,
    Monica.

    • Thank you, Monica. I am not sure what you call a quicker DVJ from the table of contents. If it is including each verse as a hyperlink, then I have decided against it as it would not be as easy as DVJ or DVJ-2.

      I do not have a Concordance as part of my offerings. I think it is not that necessary, given that you can search for any word in the Bible and find each instance of it.

  3. connie salamida

    i would so love to have the four volume devine office available on the kindle.

  4. Anne

    I would love to have non-English translations of the Bible available. I’ve been trying to find copies of the 1569, 1869 or 1909 versions of the whole Reina-Valera Spanish translation of the Bible (both Old and New Testaments). They’re all very bad, with terrible tables of contents.

    Since the Bible translators didn’t always translate the same Hebrew or Greek word into the same (English) word (due to synonyms), I agree with Monica that a concordance is a must; even if you can do a full Kindle search for the word. But until Kindle includes full Hebrew text support as well as their current Greek support, it’s impossible. Due to this limitation, the Kindle versions of Strong’s Concordance gets very poor reviews on Amazon.

    • Anne,

      I’ve made an OSNOVA edition of what’s supposed to be R-V 1909. There were attacks on it by folks who only read the modern version of R-V. Since I do not speak Spanish I could not discuss it and has unpublished it from Amazon. If you want, I will make some improvements and will send you a copy. (I also have made the Kindle Bibles in Chinese, Russian, French and Latin).

      I also did a New Testament with Greek portion of Strong’s. Greek is supported on recent Kindles.

      • Anne

        From what I can understand, the 1909 uses a slightly different text than the 1960 translation. The 1960 is supposed to be a more Catholic Bible, while the 1909 has a somewhat more Protestant slant and the 1865 version is supposed to be the most Protestant “modern” translation. Somewhat like the differences between the NIV, KVJ, D-R and other English versions, people will argue. 🙂

        But I would love to have a copy of your edition of the R-V 1909. Since I found out about the OSNOVA Bibles, I’ve been recommending them to people for their Kindles. I bought your Study Bible, and think it’s great.

  5. Dana

    I would love to see the 1841 English Hexapla/ Parallel New Testament in Kindle format.

    • That would be a worthy endeavor! If I take it on, it would probably take a while to complete (I have many major projects underway and this one promises to be significant one). I will probably have to “recreate” it. In other words, I will have to take (create) sources for each of the translations and combine them as they were combined in 1841 Hexapla instead of digitizing the original Hexapla itself. The distinction is that there might be some minor variations.

  6. Anne, You are so kind! I’ve sent you a copy of R-V 1909 and am eager to hear your feedback.

    • Anne

      Thanks so much for the copy of the Bible! Obviously, I can’t have read it all quite yet, but what I’ve seen so far looks very nice. 🙂

  7. Ed

    I have purchased 2 separate versions/translations of your Kindle Bible through Amazon. I like the functionality and your customer service/support/dedication to the product very much, but not necessarily the translations…. which I know is not your fault. I am writing to ask if you have a TNIV version available now with DVJ or do you plan on making one available soon?

  8. I would love to see the ESV used.

    • I haven’t approached them yet about permission. I’ll ask, although I don’t think they will be interested in cooperating with me.

      • Hopefully, they will. Crossway has been very liberal in making the ESV freely available as a download in Bible programs. Perhaps they will say “yes.” Thank you for your work.

  9. Spoudason

    The ESV Study Bible in Kindle really does need your touch. Please ask them. Thank you.

  10. Done. I’ve sent an email to Crossway about ESV. I may need some third-party “references”/support. If so, I’ll post here. I’ve also sent a reminder to Zondervan. My first email to them was in December 2009, and lots of follow-ups in 2010.

  11. I would love to see the entire Bible (including deuterocanonical books) in English but with every word a clickable link that takes you to Strong’s Hebrew and Greek dictionary or some similar dictionary (no need to see the original languages on the main page). Even if the Hebrew is rendered in Roman characters, this would be a great resource. Of course little words like “a” and “the” need not be clickable! The translation can be any of the main ones although my personal Bible these days is the RSV-Catholic Edition. I also love the ESV, KJV and NASB (although it unfortunately does not have Deuterocanonicals).

    I would also love to see a Greek Septuagint that includes the deuterocanonical books. I use your interlinear Greek New Testament and KJV for Kindle every day! DVR is great.

    I would also love to see a Kindle version of the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

    • You don’t give easy assignments, do you? 🙂 I’ll keep your suggestions in mind.

      • Well, I wouldn’t waste space with a task that we mere mortals could handle. 🙂

        OK, I’d be happy if you added the Deuterocanonicals to the Septuagint that already exists in Kindle form. That way I can have the Kindle next to my Bible (which has the Deuterocanonicals) and refer to the Greek LXX if not the Hebrew. I’m already doing that with your interlinear Greek New Testament.

  12. Alan

    Hi, On Kindle 3, I love your study bible and the indexing. I remember you or others on here saying that they wished the Kindle 3 had a number pad … well … it almost does … I just discovered from http://www.geek.com/articles/gadgets/kindle-3-hidden-features-include-2-games-image-viewer-screenshot-grab-20100930/ that alt-Q is 1, alt-W is 2 etc, all the way across the top row of the keyboard. Did you know this?

    • Thank you, Alan, for your kind words. Yes, I knew that the top row are also numbers (this comes from Kindle DX), although I’d prefer they would type the numbers above the keys so people could easily see them.

  13. This is probably more of a feedback than a suggestion, but I’ll turn it into a suggestion somehow. I just discovered an amazing thing! I was reading an article that I downloaded from the web to my Kindle and came across a scripture reference that didn’t supply the passage itself (I hate it when authors do that). Since I knew the DVJ code for the reference, I typed it in and clicked on “my items” in the search box. Then the passage showed up in the results –in all the Bibles that use this system, both Greek and English translations! It was like a miracle! My suggestion is that we all make a big deal of this feature. It turns your entire Kindle into a powerful reference source. I will try to limit my future Bible purchases to those that have DVJ. BTW any thought about publishing an Aramaic Peshitta NT with DVJ?

  14. Russ, yep. That’s the beauty of DVJ-1 (DVJ-2 is not working this way). I do think it is a big deal, so help me spread the word.

    At this time, I can’t promise an OSNOVA Peshita on the Kindle but I do not rule it out.

    Small pre-announcements: I am currently working on the Greek NT — Byzantine Textform 2005 (Compiled and Arranged by. Maurice A. Robinson and William G. Pierpont) and the KJV in its 1611 form and spelling.

  15. I was thinking how great it would be if someone had the genius and foresight to create TTS friendly Bibles for the Kindle which would allow us to enjoy audio Bibles, and was excited to discover that you had done just that. However I am looking particularly for a Catholic Bible or even just the Deuterocanonical books (Apocrypha) in this format since the selection of entire audio Catholic Bibles is almost non-existant! The TTS KJV Apocrypha would be just fine. Or does your already existing TTS KJV already include the Apocrypha?

Leave a Reply

