OSNOVA Study Bible


OSNOVA Study Bible
OSNOVA Study Bible

The OSNOVA Study Bible includes the Holy Bible and the following Bible study resources:

  • The Treasury of Scripture Knowledge (500,000 Scripture cross-references) by R.A. Torrey
  • How to Study the Bible for Greatest Profit (a course on Bible study methods)  by R.A. Torrey
  • Daily Bread (one-year Bible reading calendar) by R.M. M’Cheyne

This edition incorporates an active table of contents, a joystick navigation between chapters, and a cross-reference system between the Bible study resources and the included Bible (with Direct Verse Jump and Direct Verse Jump 2, see below), which makes it easy to locate any place within the Bible study resources or the Scriptures in seconds. The table of contents allows navigation to any chapter of the Scriptures, with the hyperlinked dot to the right of each chapter leading to the corresponding place in the Treasury of Scripture Knowledge. Each title and each verse number in the included Bible is hyperlinked to the corresponding passage in the Treasury of Scripture Knowledge, and each reference in the Treasury of Scripture Knowledge is hyperlinked to the corresponding passage in the Bible.

Direct Verse Jump: new navigation method using the search functionality.

In this version, all you need to do is type an abbreviated book name (see the table of contents for the complete list), then period, then chapter number, period again, and then verse number and finally press “find” twice (you need not wait for the Kindle to display the search results) and you will be looking at that particular verse in seconds. For detailed instructions, read http://osnova.com/2010/12/09/279/ In short, for John 3:16, you type “jn.3.16” and double click “enter”.

Direct Verse Jump 2: an alternative way to jump to any verse:

While reading your OSNOVA publication, press “Menu”, then select “Index” and type the same DVJ abbreviation as described above for the passage you want with the only difference that instead of periods use spaces (for example “jn 3 16”).

NOTE: Many features of this publication will not work on Kindle 1, software Kindles such as Kindles for PC, iPad, iPhone, Blackberry or Android. This edition is not TTS(text-to-speech)-friendly due to the way TTS works on the Kindle.

* * *
If you have any questions or concerns at all about this (or any other of OSNOVA publications), please email us at osnova@gmail.com

* * *
Quotes from How to Study the Bible for Greatest Profit:

  • The Bible is much read, but comparatively little studied.
  • We cannot all be profound students of nature; we can all be profound students of Scripture.
  • A person who understands the language of the Holy Spirit, but who does not understand a word of Greek or Hebrew or Aramaic, will get more out of the Bible, than one, who knows all about Greek and Hebrew and cognate languages, but is not born again, and, consequently, does not understand the language of the Holy Spirit.
  • One of the greatest follies of the day, is to set unregenerate men to teaching the Bible, because of their rare knowledge of the human forms of speech in which the book was written. It would be as reasonable to set a man to teach art because he had an accurate technical knowledge of paints.
  • It should be distinctly understood, that, while there are teachings in the Bible that the natural man can understand, and beauties which he can see, its most distinctive and characteristic teachings are beyond his grasp, and its highest beauties belong to a world in which he has no vision. The first fundamental condition of the most profitable Bible study, is, then, “Ye must be born again.” You cannot study the Bible to the greatest profit if you have not been born again. Its best treasures are sealed to you.
  • Many come to the table God has spread in His word with no appetite for spiritual food, and go mincing here and there and grumbling about everything. Spiritual indigestion lies at the bottom of much modern criticism of the Bible.
  • The reason why many get so little out of their Bible reading is simply because they are not willing to think. Intellectual laziness lies at the bottom of a large percent of fruitless Bible reading.
  • One pound of beef well chewed and digested and assimilated, will give more strength than tons of beef merely glanced at; and one verse of scripture chewed and digested and assimilated, will give more strength than whole chapters simply skimmed. Weigh every word you read in the Bible. Look at it. Turn it over and over. The most familiar passages get a new meaning in this way.
  • Do not come to the Bible full of your own ideas, and seeking from it a confirmation of them. Come rather to find out what are God’s ideas as He has revealed them there. Come not to find a confirmation of your own opinion, but to be taught what God may be pleased to teach.
  • Few keys open so many caskets that contain hidden treasure as prayer. Few clues unravel so many difficulties. Few microscopes will disclose so many beauties hidden from the eye of the ordinary observer. What new light often shines from an old familiar text as you bend over it in prayer!
32 Comments

Filed under Bible Study, Kindle Bibles

32 responses to “OSNOVA Study Bible

    • It’s KJV; however, I can make it any other translation that I’ve already published (except for NET that is). Just ask.

      • Michael Bryant

        Would you make a bible like this?

        1. KJV of the bible
        2. Concordance (When I tab next to a word the definition pops up)
        3. Treasury of scriptures

      • The OSNOVA Study Bible above has 1 and 3 already. I don’t understand how you see 2 working (linking every word?). This is already possible if you also buy ISBE and set it as default dictionary.

      • Michael Bryant

        “This is already possible if you also buy ISBE and set it as default dictionary.”.

        I have a Strong’s Concordance. I may use it to look up almost every word in the KJV of the bible.

        Will the ISBE give me the same service? Will it allow me to obtain the definitions of nearly every word in the KJV of the bible?

        If not, do you know where I may get a great strongs concordance for the Kindle that I could set as my default dictionary?

        I have a bible dictionary for the kindle but it lacks all the words that the concordance has. I do not want to repeat that again.

      • I have the Greek vocabulary portion of Strongs in http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004DI5W3A/ but it is not exactly what you are looking for. It is integrated with the KJV NT. So, when you press a word in the NT, it takes you to the corresponding Strongs entry for that Greek word. It also includes Thayer.

        I also know of this publication (it is not mine so no guarantees from me) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0050YYO5S/

        This publication http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00439GNIM/ is awful. I tried it.

      • Michael Bryant

        I purchased your OSNOVA study bible.

        I type ac.2.38 and it does not take me to Acts Chapter 2 verse 28. It goes to the book of Leviticus. I noticed this with several verse searches.

        Do you have a fix for this?

        1.co.12.30 has no treasury of scripture underline ( I cannot do a treasure of scripture search on this verse).

        Can you make all the verse numbers start on the left instead of within the paragraphs?

        Thanks for your help

      • Thank you, Michael. I’ve sent you an email but will also put it here.

        This is a known software bug with the Kindle 3 search function. See http://osnova.com/2010/10/20/kindle-3-search-bugs/
        I have reported this issue to Amazon (email and phone) over six months and have reminded them since but so far they haven’t fixed it.

        For this reason, I had to develop an alternative DVJ-2 method, which is not susceptible to this bug. See http://osnova.com/2010/12/09/279/ and http://osnova.com/2011/07/03/video-tutorials/

        Regarding your second note. If I understand it correctly, you prefer verse-per-line format to the paragraphed one. I have the KJV in that format at http://store.osnova.com/Kindle-Bible-KJV-verse-per-line_p_9.html but not yet the OSNOVA Study Bible. I will add this request to my list of projects. So, I’ll do it but can’t promise that it will be fast.

        Blessings,
        Illya

  1. Thanks. I prefer the kjv. I have a sample…With this answer, I’ll be ordering the whole thing.

  2. Steve Rowe

    I love your bibles. If this was in NET translation, I would likely buy it. Why do you say any translatino except NET?

  3. chris

    What would the process be to get this in a different translation? I was thinking of the WEB or the NHEB. I did have a question about the NHEB however, I tried the sample and I didn’t see anything that distinguished paragraphs. I like the fact that it was verse format, but I didn’t notice where a new paragraph started and stopped. I only did the sample however. Thanks for all that you do! chris

    • If you tell me exactly what translation you want I will start working on it. I’ll have to look at my NHEB files. I don’t think there was anything in the source files that I could use to distinguish paragraphs but I may be mistaken.

  4. chris

    I have the NET version, and your comment raises an additional question, can I get DVJ 2 with the NET? Just wondering. thanks! chris

    • Sure. If you send me a receipt for the purchase of the NET Bible to osnova@gmail.com, I’ll send you an updated version. The NET Bible on Amazon has or will be updated with the DVJ-2. You have already purchased it, so I do not see a problem there.

      What I cannot do is use the NET Bible in my other projects such as the OSNOVA Study Bible.

  5. Bob

    I tried the sample on Amazon but I could not find any actual scripture, just TOC and notes. I wanted to see the formatting of scripture and the navigation by DVJ.

    I think you should make it clear in the Amazon description that the scripture version is KJV so people don’t have to work so hard to find out what version it is.

    • Yes, the sample is automatically generated by Amazon. I do not know how it decides when to cut it off.

      The OSNOVA Study Bible by default has KJV (I’ll update the description); however, if you have bought a version from Amazon, you can request any other translation that has been published on this site (other than the NET).

  6. Joe

    Is it possible to get the NIV with DVJ?

    • NIV’s copyright is owned by Zondervan; they have ignored my requests for permission to publish NIV with DVJ (or even to help them to incorporate DVJ into their publication).

  7. Eric Dickerson

    Is it possible to get this in nkjv? If so, how do I do that?

  8. Valerie Walker

    I am really sorry to read that you cannot do NIV or my preferred NKJV! Such a shame! I do have your KJV thankfully just when I got my Kindle for Christmas. I see that it is no longer available on Amazon UK for some reason.

  9. Josh

    is this available in ESV?

    • ESV is copyrighted by Crossway. I have reached out to them but they are not interested in cooperation. They did include my DVJ-2 navigation method though by reverse engineering my books.

  10. Stephen

    I finally found this page and it answered all my questions. I intend to buy the OSNOVA Study Bible and the encyclopedia. I am a 72 year old serial entrepreneur and marketing expert. I encourage you to strengthen your editorial comments on the Amazon page. You should also create an Amazon blog and put the information I found on this obscure page in that blog. Also, you should move all the navigational information from your book’s Amazon page to the blog and to the OSNOVA website and simply offer links on your precious and valuable Amazon editorial space. You are not an exciting writer. I urge you to find somebody who can write your marketing copy. The OSNOVA website is terrible. I would bet you are loosing 75% of your prospects. If you were to google search “the 10 worst website design mistakes,” you would see that you have a perfect score. Your website has no landing page. When someone comes to OSNOVA.com wondering what OSNOVA is all about, do they get an answer to that question? If they have a question, as I did, about the OSNOVA Study Bible, where on that page do they click to find the answer? Rule of thumb is that you have about 8 seconds to answer the question that brought a prospect to your site before they surf away. I say these things because I love and appreciate what you have done; but you have completed only half the job. God has given you a great gift and lighted your way. Pray that He will send you a marketing expert that is your equal. If you want to tell me to keep my nose out of your business, please write stephentyler (at) cox.net

  11. Mike MacCalla

    I wish you would put it out in pdf or epub format.

    I have ordered it from amazon and have kindle on my computer. But I would really like being able to have it on my sony reader.

    • Mike, a while ago I bought a Sony Reader to try to make something similar for it. I realized that most OSNOVA publication features would not work (no internal index support, no hardware keyboard, slower search, etc.) Of course, I could still make a publication with fewer features, relying on epub TOC and links (see for example epub publications from OSNOVA at http://store.osnova.com/Epub-Books-Nook-etc_c_10.html); however, I want to do something that nobody else has done and I couldn’t come with anything for epub.

      • Mike MacCalla

        That is too bad!

        How about putting out just the Treasury of Scripture Knowledge in pdf or epub? I have been looking for that work in that format for quite a while and I’m surprised no one is producing it in any ebook format.

    • Mobi is an ebook format 🙂 but I know what you mean. OK. I’ll try to do a file in epub. Do you have a touch screen Sony Reader?

      • Mike MacCalla

        Yes. I have one of their pocket editions PRS-350.

        Keep me posted. I’m very serious. I have used the Treasury in hardcover for a bunch of years. However I am finding my ereader so easy for being able to keep multiple references on for study when traveling. I’ve gotten hooked on the library in my pocket idea.

Leave a Reply

