The Best KJV Bible for the Kindle (verse-per-line format)




Features of this Kindle edition of the KJV Bible:

  • The text of this electronic edition is true to the KJV paper editions (no typos, no OCR errors! unlike other Kindle KJV editions)
  • No missing Biblical or other KJV text (for example, see the notes at the end of the Paul’s epistles, which are found in the original KJV, look at Psalms’ subheadings, especially, Ps. 119)
  • Direct Verse Jump, a revolutionary new method to open the exact verse you need in mere seconds (see below)
  • two other ways to navigate between books and chapters: (i) using a hyperlinked table of contents; and (ii) pressing the joystick right or left to move between books of the Bible. Once you learn all of the three navigation methods, you will be able to open any verse in your Kindle Bible as fast as (or even faster than) in your paper copy.
  • correctly formatted (i.e., true formatting of the original KJV – italics, small caps in LORD, etc.)
  • the traditional verse-per-line format (if you prefer the text to be broken into paragraphs for cohesion please purchase another KJV publication) from OSNOVA
  • includes original KJV translators’ notes
  • complete KJV book titles
  • it is easy to determine where you are in the Bible
  • Jesus’ words are in bold
  • as any Kindle book, the KJV Bible is fully searchable; however, when you first install the file please wait for the Kindle to index the whole Bible (about 10 minutes). The file is large and it takes a long time to index. For this reason, the DVJ navigation method will be available only after the book has been indexed

Direct Verse Jump a revolutionary navigation method using the search functionality:

In this version, all you need to do is type an abbreviated book name (see the table of contents for the complete list), then period, then chapter number, period again, and then verse number and finally press “find” twice (you need not wait for the Kindle to display the search results) and you will be looking at that particular verse in seconds. If you just need to open the first verse of any chapter then the verse number is not necessary. Do not forget periods and use only the abbreviations that are listed in the table of contents.

For example, if you wish to select chapter 3 of Genesis, you would:

  1. type the standard abbreviation for Genesis (see the table of contents for a complete list), then period, and finally number “3” in other words: ge.3
  2. click “find” twice and you are there.

For John 3:16, you type jn.3.16 and double click “find”.

Note: that you should put the chapter number even for books that have only one chapter. For example, the Epistle from Jude verse 5 would translate to “jud.1.5” and a double click.

For other publications by OSNOVA, please visit the OSNOVA Press website.

31 Comments

Filed under Kindle Bibles

31 responses to “The Best KJV Bible for the Kindle (verse-per-line format)

  1. All of these [KJV, WEB, NET Bible] have been optimized for Kindle by Osnova from the Kindle Boards here. Because of the direct jump feature, you can easily bounce around scripture on Kindle as quickly as you can a dead tree version once you have learned the abbreviations of each book. … Osnova’s version looks beautiful on the Kindle and is very user friendly.

  2. Great job!

    I love the way you incorporated the strength of other Kindle versions (namely the chapter and verse navigation from the Table of Contents ability) but in addition, allow for going straight to the desired verse by simply typing in the abbreviated book, chapter, and verse and double-clicking “Find”. This is an incredible time saver!

    For those who don’t know how that works: If you want to go to Isaiah 7:14, simply type “is.7.14” (minus the quotes), double-click “Find”, and you’re there.

    This is a fantastic edition. Thanks for all the hard work.

  3. I got this Bible yesterday, downloaded today, have not read the instructions, took my K2i to church and was able to keep up with the verses – THANKS!

  4. Very interesting — I like the ability to find a verse. Hopefully, other translations will eventually have that feature as well. I’d llike to get the NIV version on Kindle with a verse jump feature.

  5. Thank you for doing this — this looks really cool! I’m going to pick this up for my Kindle. I’ve been using my Kindle for my Bible, but during sermons, the KJV I have with the hyperlinked TOC just wasn’t cutting it for getting there quickly. The features you have added look like they will be very helpful …

  6. Just to update after using the KJV for the first time at a sermon this morning … — it worked great!! I found the searches to be much faster than using a linked TOC and having to move the cursor to a particular book. I’m definitely a fan of the search method!! Getting right to the exact verse, instead of the beginning of the book, is really wonderful. …

  7. Cool!! I wish you could make my ESV or NASB do that!!

  8. I appreciate that you are making Bibles easier to navigate on the Kindle.

  9. I can jump directly to a verse? awesome, exactly what I was looking for. … Thanks.

  10. I have my DX now. I bought the KJV Direct Verse version and although the keypad on the DX is a bit ackward, it only took about 10 minutes of practice to be able to jump to any verse in just a couple seconds. this is very well done, and will keep me from carrying around a huge 3 olume extra large print bible. thank you!

  11. Your Direct Verse Jump navigation is the best I’ve seen for an eBook Bible.

  12. Thank you very much for this Bible. Very easy to navigate.

  13. Congratulations on a fine effort, I have purchased a copy. I don’t know if the DVJ method would be considered ‘proprietary intellectual property’ or not, but if so perhaps it would be worth your contacting Zondervan and other e-bible publishers to discuss licensing the technique. I would like to see Zondervan’s NIV with this capability. If the method isn’t a true proprietary IP, is it something that you would consider teaching others to utilize when making other reference books on the Kindle?

  14. Roy

    Why is the KJV not available in Canada from the Kindle book store, whereas others from your company, such as the WEB, are?

  15. Hmm. I did not know that. Amazon always plays a censor. I assure you that we did not ask Amazon to limit the distribution of the KJV Bible.

  16. David

    When will this be available from Amazon UK?

    • This is out of my control. Amazon makes its own decisions and they appear to have decided not to sell it on Amazon UK. If you wish you may send me the price by Paypal (I’ll give my Paypal account only if you email me first at osnova@gmail.com), and I’ll send the file by email.

  17. David

    I can’t directly jump to Romans 1:1. My kindle takes me to Exodus 26 instead.

    • The longer I have Kindle 3 (I presume that is what you have) the more upset I am.
      This is not the fault of my Bible edition (see the search results windows before jumping to the destination). You’ve identified another search bug with Kindle 3. If you set the Kindle 3 to one of two-three largest font sizes, the bug may go away. Why does the font size affect the search destination? I have reported about three or four bugs to Amazon with Kindle 3 and this is next.

  18. David

    By the way thanks for taking the time to make available this Bible.

  19. David

    Any chance of a Bible with Strong’s Concordance built in?

  20. Jason

    I wanted to know if this KJV is the 1611 edition.

Leave a Reply

